Three cyclists named on BBC Sports Personality shortlist

SPOTY 2012 cyclists

Cyclists Sir Chris Hoy, Sarah Storey and Bradley Wiggins have all been named in the shortlist of twelve athletes who will be in contention for the 2012 BBC Sports Personality of the Year award.

A public phone vote will decide the winner from the shortlist of 12 contenders during a live show on BBC 1 on the evening of Sunday 16 December 2012. Mark Cavendish won the award last year, whilst Hoy will be looking to repeat his success of 2008. The shortlist was compiled by an expert panel at a meeting on 19th November 2012 in London.

Sports Personality of the Year 2012 - the shortlist

Nicola Adams (Boxing)
Ben Ainslie (Sailing)
Jessica Ennis (Athletics)
Mo Farah (Athletics)
Kath Grainger (Rowing)
Chris Hoy (Cycling)
Andy Murray (Tennis)
Rory MacIlroy (Golf)
Eleanor Simmonds (Swimming)
Sarah Storey (Cycling)
David Weir (Athletics)
Bradley Wiggins (Cycling)

Commenting on the shortlist, British Cycling’s President, Brian Cookson OBE, said:

'It’s phenomenal news that three of our cyclists are up for the UK’s most prized annual sporting award. To be nominated for Sports Personality – especially after such a spectacular Olympic year for Team GB – is an amazing recognition of what has been achieved across our sport. Bradley Wiggins, our first winner of the Tour de France, Sir Chris Hoy, now Britain’s most successful Olympian, and Sarah Storey – whose 11 Paralympic golds match Baroness Tanni Grey-Thompson’s record – all thoroughly deserve their place on the shortlist. This comes a year after Mark Cavendish won the award and if a cyclist can do it again, it will further highlight just how mainstream our sport now is.'